The Hugo Boss Prize 2016

Exhibition Website

Apr 21 2017 - Jul 5 2017

Guggenheim Museum

New York City, NY

Founded in 1996, the Hugo Boss Prize is a biennial award administered by the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum that honors significant achievement in contemporary art. Selected by a jury of international curators and critics, the winner for the eleventh iteration of the prize is Anicka Yi. A solo exhibition of her work will be presented at the Guggenheim in the spring of 2017. 

A catalogue featuring portfolios contributed by the finalists and essays discussing each artist’s practice, as well as a special section to commemorate the 20th anniversary of the prize, is being published in conjunction with this year’s edition of the award.  THE HUGO BOSS PRIZE 2016, features artist-designed pages by each of the finalists—Tania Bruguera, Mark Leckey, Ralph Lemon, Laura Owens, Wael Shawky, and Anicka Yi—as well as accompanying essays.

Credit: Exhibition overview from museum website.

  • American
  • Contemporary
  • Anicka Yi
  • Tania Bruguera
  • Mark Leckey
  • Ralph Lemon
  • Laura Owens
  • Wael Shawky

Exhibition Venues & Dates