Stranahan House is a history museum, historic house and social center for the community, with exhibitions, educational programs and tours
The Stranahan House was built in 1901 by Frank Stranahan, credited as Fort Lauderdale’s founding father, and his wife Ivy Cromartie Stranahan, the area’s first school teacher. It is the oldest surviving structure in Broward County and has served as a trading post, post office, town hall, and home to the Stranahans.
The house is a wood-frame vernacular structure with wide porches and a stunning view of the New River. It was restored by the Fort Lauderdale Historical Society and the Fort Lauderdale Board of Realtors and opened to the public as a historic house museum in 1984.