Hunter House

54 Washington Street, Newport, RI 02840


Museum Website

A house with a long and fascinating history, Hunter House is one of the finest examples of Georgian Colonial architecture from Newport's "golden age" in the mid-18th century.​

The north half of Hunter House was constructed between 1748 and 1754. It was later enlarged by adding a south wing and a second chimney, transforming the building into a formal Georgian mansion with a large central hall. At that time, in several rooms, the graining or "spreckling" of the pine paneling was done to make it look more like walnut and rosewood.

The house was purchased in 1945 through the formation of The Preservation Society of Newport County. The Preservation Society restored Hunter House to the era of the second owner, Colonel Wanton (1757 to 1779). Today, the house exhibits examples of the finest achievements in the arts and crafts of 18th century Newport. The collections include furniture by the Townsend-Goddard family, premier cabinetmakers of the colonial era who worked in the neighborhood of Hunter House. Newport pewter and paintings by Cosmo Alexander, Gilbert Stuart and Samuel King are also on display. 

Hunter House is a National Historic Landmark, open seasonally. ​

Credit: Exhibition overview from museum website