Founded in 2006, the museum collection comprises more than 1000 Russian icons and artifacts spanning six centuries, including historical paintings dating from the earliest periods of icon "writing" to the present.
The Museum is housed in a 150-year-old former mill building that has expanded to include a contemporary, aluminum-clad addition and a renovated 150-year-old former courthouse and police station. In addition to gallery space, a terrace with a green roof, a tea room, and performance facilities, the museum's three floors are connected by a custom-designed, sweeping metal and glass stairway.
Holiday ornaments and toys explore the revival of the Russian New Year holiday tradition
A selection of nesting dolls celebrate Russian winter and the Christmas season
150 Soviet-era ornaments along with toys, books, and cards